Thoughts After the Tour from PBT Dancer Danielle Downey

We arrived back to the States this week, wrapping up a wonderful international tour in Israel. I honestly admit that I am exhausted from a busy week and feeling a bit of jet lag, but the experience was truly amazing and I will cherish the memories of the tour forever.

Performing in Israel was unique from other times I’ve been on stage. Realizing that we were representing the Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre in another country for the first time in nearly two decades created a distinct energy and excitement between all of the dancers.
When we were not performing we tried to make the most out of our trip by visiting many historic sites and landmarks in Israel. In the two days that we had off I managed to visit Nazareth, the Jordan River, the Sea of Galilee, the Bahai Gardens, Jerusalem, and the Dead Sea! Each place was so different from the first and they were all wonderful. I feel thankful that I was able to see so many different faces of Israel in such a short period of time.
On a side note: Wanting to ride a camel is something that I had been joking about with the dancers prior to heading to Israel. But all jokes aside, once we arrived to the country that silly goal of mine quickly made its way to the top of my bucket list. When we arrived in Jerusalem fellow dancer, Alejandro Diaz spotted a camel and quickly got my attention. I ran over hoping to maybe get a picture next to it. When the owner asked if I wanted to ride him, I didn’t even hesitate saying yes and jumped on! The camel was so sweet and took me for a short walk. We were on the top of Mt. Olive which offered a beautiful view of the entire ‘Old City’ of Jerusalem. I was all smiles–this definitely may have been the highlight of the tour for me!

Danielle performing in Rishon LeZion

PBT’s Danielle Downey rides a camel

Leave a Reply

