Thoughts After the Tour from PBT Dancer Luca Sbrizzi

Friday and Saturday were the only 2 days that the company was able to tour and see Israel, and I have to say, they were really well spent. We got to explore and visit places that I had been reading and hearing about since I was a little kid, so not only it was fascinating but also very informative and spiritually enlightening . On Friday I was able to visit Nazareth, the Jordan River, and the Sea of Galilee and Saturday I saw Jerusalem and the Dead Sea.

The place I was most fascinated by was Nazarath. The whole city had a really wonderful feeling to it: calm and peaceful. Walking through those street felt like a meditation to me. But the thing that literally took my breath away, was the Basilica of the Annunciation. As soon as I stepped inside I got goosebumps, and I felt this really strong connection with my Catholic roots. It was very special to me.

I was also really glad to be able to see and visit the old city of Jerusalem. The religious tension between the four quarters in which the city is divided, was clearly visible to me. And it was quite amazing walking through three of the four quarters (the Christian Quarter, the Jewish Quarter and the Armenian Quarter), and seeing the difference between each of them in character and people. I wish I had been able to visit the Tample Mount, but unfortunately it was not accessible. Being able to experience the Church of the Holy Sepulcher was another amazing part of this tour. There are no words to describe its magnificence and significance to me.

Lastly, I have to mention the Dead Sea. It was the most bizarre experience I have ever had.  Being able to completely float in that sea and cover my body in mud was truly exceptional. I think I already feel some of the healing benefits.

This tour has been a one in a life time experience that I will take with me forever.

Luca Sbrizzi at the Dead Sea

Leave a Reply

